Cars Simplified: Everything Automotive Explained


Lotus Cars Limited produces mostly light-weight sports cars in moderate numbers. Their "performance through light weight" philosophy has produced some of the fastest-cornering street-legal vehicles in the world. Lotus was founded by in 1948.

Lotus was previously involved in Formula One racing, via Team Lotus, winning the Formula One World Championship seven times. Team Lotus drivers include Stirling Moss, Jim Clark, Graham Hill, Jochen Rindt, Emerson Fittipaldi, Mario Andretti, Ronnie Peterson, Carlos Reutemann, Nigel Mansell, Elio de Angelis, Ayrton Senna, Johnny Dumfries, Satoru Nakajima, Nelson Piquet, Mika Häkkinen, Johnny Herbert, Alessandro Zanardi, and Jacky Ickx.