Cars Simplified: Everything Automotive Explained

Toyota MR-2

IncompleteSorry, this article is currently incomplete. We'll have this finished up soon. In the meantime, check out some other articles on Cars Simplified!

The MR-2 was an inexpensive mid-engined sports car built by Toyota. It saw three generations before its production ended in the 2000s.

First Generation

The first generation MR2 was internally called the W10, and production lasted from 1984 to 1989. During the production run, it was equipped with the 1.5L 3A-LU I4 (AW10), the 1.6L 4A-GE DOHC I4 (AW11), or the subercharged 1.6 L 4A-GZE I4 (AW11).

A prototype rally car version of the W10 called the S 222D was partially produced, aimed towards Group S and Group B rally, but cancelled when Group B was cancelled.

Second Generation

The second generation MR2 was known internally as the W20, was produced from 1989 to 1999. Engine options for this generation consised of the 2.0 L 3S-GTE turbo I4 (SW20), the 2.0 L 3S-GE I4 (SW20), and the 2.2 L 5S-FE I4 (SW21).

Third Generation